Saturday, November 25, 2006

Greater Bangalore

The State Government has set in motion the proposal to constitute a Greater Bangalore Authority by merging the following areas:

1. The areas already in the jurisidiction of BMP
2. City Municipal Councils (CMC) of
  • Rajarajeshwarinagar
  • Dasarahalli
  • Bommanahalli
  • Krishnarajapuram
  • Mahadevapura
  • Byatarayanapura
  • Yelahanka
3. Kengeri Town Municipal Council (TMC)
4. 111 villages
  • 1 village in Anekal taluk
  • 46 in Bangalore East taluk
  • 37 in Bangalore South taluk
  • 27 villages in Bangalore North taluk
Image Courtesy: The Hindu

The new authority will have 140 wards compared to the existing 100 of the BMP.

Apparently, there has been a long-pending demand for including the areas around Bangalore into the corporation area to ensure a comprehensive and uniform development of the city. The Government has taken the first steps by setting in motion the proposal to constitute a Greater Bangalore Authority. Now, the progress and the success of this authority remains to be seen! *rolls eyes cynically*

Info Courtesy: The Hindu

No comments: